Rev. James Lawson Announced As Recipient Of Chairman’s Award For 52nd NAACP Image Awards

The NAACP announced on Thursday, March 4, that Civil Rights Movement icon Rev. James Lawson will receive the prestigious NAACP Chairman’s Award over the course of the 52nd NAACP Image Awards. 
The Chairman’s Award, which is sponsored by Wells Fargo, is bestowed in recognition of individuals who demonstrate exemplary public service and use their distinct platforms to create agents of change. Past honorees of the Chairman’s Award include Tyler Perry, then-Senator Barack Obama, Congresswoman Maxine Waters, Ex Surgeon General Regina Benjamin, Ruby Dee, The Neville Brothers, Bono, Danny Glover, and last year’s recipient the late U.S. Congressman John Lewis. 
The award will be presented to Rev. James Lawson over the course of the two-hour LIVE TV special airing on BET and will be simulcast across ViacomCBS networks including CBS, BET Her, VH1, MTV, MTV2, and LOGO on Saturday, March 27th, 2021 at 8/7c.
As a prominent civil rights leader, revered teacher and mentor, ……

Read More

*This article contains affiliate links*

Trending Posts

Related Posts